Classification of Hemolytic Anemias

How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 175 CE courses, most popular
$109Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$55Add to cart
Individual course$25Add to cart
Need multiple seats for your university or lab? Get a quote
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Immune Hemolytic Anemias. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Immune Hemolytic Anemias (online CE course)
Classification of Hemolytic Anemias

There are three types of immune hemolytic anemias:
  1. Alloimmune hemolytic anemia occurs when the immune system produces an antibody against foreign or non-self antigens.
  2. Autoimmune hemolytic anemia occurs when the immune system fails to distinguish the difference between self and non-self antigens.
  3. Drug-induced hemolytic anemia occurs when drugs stimulate the formation of antibodies against the drug itself or against intrinsic RBC antigens.