Home Products Most Popular Contact
No items in your cart.
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Beta Thalassemia. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Beta Thalassemia (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 129 CE courses, most popular
$95 Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$50 Add to cart
Individual course$20 Add to cart

Beta Thalassemia Genetics Overview

Beta thalassemia forms are classified using two systems: genotypic and phenotypic. The genotypic system classifies the beta thalassemias based on their zygosity (heterozygous vs. homozygous) as well as degree of the mutation (partial vs. full). In this classification system, there are six forms of beta thalassemia. In the phenotypic system, there are four forms of beta thalassemia that are based upon the degree of clinical symptoms experienced by the patient.
Key: + = partial deletion or inactivation of gene loci, 0 = full deletion or inactivation of gene loci
Genotypic System:
  • B0/B0
  • B0/B+
  • B+/B+
  • B0/B
  • B+/B
  • Bsc/B
Phenotypic System:
  • Beta thalassemia major
  • Beta thalassemia intermedia
  • Beta thalassemia minor
  • Beta thalassemia minima