The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Laws and Rules of the Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Laws and Rules of the Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 94 CE courses, most popular
$95 Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$50 Add to cart
Florida HIV Safety, Medical Errors & Laws and Rules$40 Add to cart
Histology CE Package$65 Add to cart
Phlebotomy CE Package$45 Add to cart
Individual course$20 Add to cart

Continuing Education Requirements for Renewal and CEBroker, continued

In 2013 The Department of Health (and consequently the Board of Laboratory Personnel) integrated a continuing education tracking system with the state’s license renewal system. This continuing education tracking system is a private company called “CE Broker.” CE Broker has placed the name and license number of every health care licensee in the State of Florida into its data base. In addition, with a few exceptions, all Florida-approved continuing education providers must register their courses with CE Broker. You may go to the CE Broker website (click on "Course Search") and search for these courses at no charge. All continuing education providers must send records to CE Broker of courses that each licensee has taken. CE Broker then uses this information to create and maintain a transcript for each licensee, showing the courses taken, by category, during that particular two year period. Approved providers have up to 90 days to submit continuing education credits to CE Broker and, in turn, CE Broker has 24 hours to post them to the licensee’s transcript.
CE Broker offers a basic account which allows you to access your course history and report additional continuing education at no charge. They also offer two additional accounts of which there is a charge. The more popular is the Professional account for $29 per year. With this account you can: 1) see how your courses count toward your current requirements and know when you are 100% compliant; 2) report additional hours; and 3) search for additional courses that meet your requirements and save them to your account so you can take them at a later date.
The integration, which was mentioned earlier, will take place in two phases: Phase I and Phase II. Phase I will take place for all clinical laboratory personnel beginning with the license renewal in August 2014. During this first phase, if CE Broker shows that the licensee has not completed the required 24 hours of continuing education, The Department of Health’s license renewal system will automatically transfer the licensee to CE Broker so the licensee can self-submit continuing education credit hours. The licensee will be allowed to renew their license even if they have not completed all the required hours of continuing education. They will, however, be notified that their continuing education is not complete and be instructed as to when and how to complete it.
Phase II of the integration process for clinical laboratory personnel will take place with the August 2016 license renewal. This phase will require that the licensee have all continuing education requirements completed and entered into CE Broker (the continuing education tracking system) before the issuance of a new license.