The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Medicare Compliance for Healthcare Personnel. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Medicare Compliance for Healthcare Personnel (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe

International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition, Clinical Modification /Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-CM/PCS) Coding

ICD-10-CM/PCS consists of two parts:
  • ICD-10-CM for diagnosis coding
  • ICD-10-PCS for inpatient procedure coding
ICD-10-CM is for use in all U.S. health care settings. Diagnosis coding under ICD-10-CM uses 3 to 7 digits instead of the 3 to 5 digits previously used with ICD-9-CM, but the format of the code sets is similar.
ICD-10-PCS is for use in U.S. inpatient hospital settings only. ICD-10 PCS uses 7 alphanumeric digits instead of the 3 or 4 numeric digits used under ICD-9-CM procedure coding. Coding under ICD-10-PCS is much more specific and substantially different from ICD-9-CM procedure coding.
The transition to ICD-10 occurred because ICD-9 produced limited data about patients' medical conditions and hospital inpatient procedures. ICD-9 is 30 years old, has outdated terms, and is inconsistent with current medical practice. Also, the structure of ICD-9 limits the number of new codes that can be created, and many ICD-9 categories are full.
The files that are included on this page are provided by CMS as an introduction to ICD-10 coding and to answer frequently asked questions regarding the transition from ICD-9 to ICD-10. Additional information can be obtained from the CMS website. Available at: Accessed April 11, 2016.

eHealthU ICD10TransitionIntro [click to view / print]

Adobe Acrobat PDF file

ICD10FAQs2013 [click to view / print]

Adobe Acrobat PDF file