Home Products Most Popular Contact
No items in your cart.
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Theoretical and Practical Aspects of Routine H&E Staining. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Theoretical and Practical Aspects of Routine H&E Staining (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe
Histology CE Package$65 Add to cart
Individual course$20 Add to cart

Three Broad Categories of Biological Stains

There are three broad categories of biological stains:

  • General or Routine Stains: Used to differentiate between the nucleus and the cytoplasm. This allows for the different tissue types to be distinguished from one another. These stains use one, two, or sometimes three dyes. The H&E stain falls into this category.
  • Special Stains: These are used to demonstrate specific elements within the tissue, such as connective tissue, muscle, carbohydrates, lipids, pigments, and nerve tissue.
  • Heavy Metal Impregnation: Involves the deposit of metallic substances onto targeted cells. This is often used to demonstrate nerve cells and certain microorganisms.