Categories for Specialties

Need multiple seats for your university or lab? Get a quote
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Laws and Rules of the Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Laws and Rules of the Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel (online CE course)
Categories for Specialties

When you apply for a license at any level, you must indicate one or more specialties. Each specialty has slightly different requirements, including which exams you can use to qualify for licensure. You can later add more specialties to your license by taking the appropriate exam.

The following is a partial list of specialties available to clinical laboratory personnel:

  • Microbiology
  • Serology / Immunology
  • Clinical Chemistry
  • Hematology
  • Immunohematology
  • Histocompatibility
  • Blood Banking(Donor Processing)
  • Cytology
  • Cytogenetics
  • Histology
  • Molecular Pathology
  • Andrology and Embryology

Each category of specialty has a scope of practice that describes the type of testing that may be performed with that category.