Home Products Most Popular Contact
No items in your cart.
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Medical Error Prevention: Patient Safety. Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Medical Error Prevention: Patient Safety (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 123 CE courses, most popular
$95 Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$50 Add to cart
Florida HIV Safety, Medical Errors & Laws and Rules$40 Add to cart
Histology CE Package$65 Add to cart
Phlebotomy CE Package$55 Add to cart
Individual course$20 Add to cart

Six Domains of Healthcare Quality as Defined by the Institute of Medicine (IOM)

In its publication, Crossing the Quality Chasm, the IOM identified six domains of healthcare quality and described aims for 21st Century healthcare systems.
Safe: Avoid harm to patients from the care that is intended to help them.
Effective: Provide services based on scientific knowledge to all who could benefit and refrain from providing services to those not likely to benefit (eg, avoid underuse and misuse of services, respectively).
Patient-centered: Provide care that is respectful of and responsive to individual patient preferences, needs, and values and ensure that patient values guide all clinical decisions.
Timely: Reduce waits and sometimes harmful delays for both those who receive and those who give care.
Efficient: Avoid waste, including waste of equipment, supplies, ideas, and energy.
Equitable: Provide care that does not vary in quality because of personal characteristics such as gender, ethnicity, geographic location, and socioeconomic status.

Reference: Committee on Quality of Health Care in America. Crossing the Quality Chasm, A New Health System for the 21st Century. Washington, DC: National Academy Press. 2001.