Home Products Most Popular Contact
No items in your cart.
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Myelodysplastic Syndromes (MDS). Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Myelodysplastic Syndromes (MDS) (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 132 CE courses, most popular
$95 Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$50 Add to cart
Individual course$20 Add to cart

The Classification of Myelodysplastic Syndromes (MDS)

The World Health Organization (WHO) classifies MDS into three grades: low, intermediate, and high. The classification is primarily based on the type and degree of dysplasia, abnormal cytogenetic testing, the presence of ring sideroblasts, the percentage of blasts, and the presence or absence of Auer rods.

The classifications of MDS, according to WHO, include:
  1. MDS with single lineage dysplasia: granulocytic, erythroid, or megakaryocytic
  2. MDS with ring sideroblasts: the presence of 15% ring sideroblasts on the Prussian blue stained marrow smear
  3. MDS with multilineage dysplasia: dysplasia in two, or the three myeloid lines
  4. MDS with excess blasts (1&2) *refer to image on the right
  5. MDS with isolated del(5q) chromosome
  6. MDS, unclassifiable