Home Products Most Popular Contact
No items in your cart.
The page below is a sample from the LabCE course Competency Assessment for Point-of-Care Testing (POCT). Access the complete course and earn ASCLS P.A.C.E.-approved continuing education credits by subscribing online.

Learn more about Competency Assessment for Point-of-Care Testing (POCT) (online CE course) »
How to Subscribe
MLS & MLT Comprehensive CE Package
Includes 123 CE courses, most popular
$95 Add to cart
Pick Your Courses
Up to 8 CE hours
$50 Add to cart
Individual course$20 Add to cart

Competency Assessment Frequency

CMS outlines that competency assessment must be performed for all testing at the following intervals:
  • Competency assessment for all non-waived testing must be conducted at least semiannually during the first year the individual tests patient specimens. These assessments are at six months and 12 months following the start of patient testing.
  • Assessment frequency is annually after the first 12 months.
  • Competency assessment for waived testing is required annually from the completion of initial training. The assessment at six months is not required for waived testing.
  • Reevaluation of the individual's performance must take place when any test methodology or instrumentation changes. This reevaluation must be completed prior to the use of a new test methodology or instrumentation reporting patient test results.