All licensed clinical laboratory personnel must earn at least 24 hours of continuing education credits every biennium from September 1 in even years through August 31, two years later.
Continuing education requirements include:
- A minimum of one (1) hour for each specialty in which you are licensed.
- A two (2) hour course on the prevention of medical errors.
- A one (1) hour update on HIV/AIDS.
- A one (1) hour course on Florida laws and rules concerning clinical laboratory personnel.
- Other general category or specialty courses to meet the total 24 hours requirement.
In addition, directors and supervisors must take a one (1) hour course in administration and supervision.
Courses must have the category listed. Some courses may be described as “general” because of their broad overview or nature, but they cannot be substituted for a specific category.
If you have just received your license, you do not need to complete the continuing education requirement during the first two-year period of your license, except for the courses that are required by Florida Statute (currently prevention of medical errors and HIV/AIDS). Licensees adding a specialty during the biennium are not required to obtain the required contact hour in that specialty.